Sometimes, I feel very good to see that slowly my friends are getting motivated to use Linux. It is just a change that they getting aware of the modern cyber world and its conditions. So, I decided to help them a bit. I decided to tell them how to install Linux and Windows on your Hard Drive. So, that you can switch between them as you want to do. So, lets have the beginning.I assume that you do not fear from creating partitions in your computer. Earlier, I decided to seek the help of VBox, it was not working fine for Fedora Love Lock installation, so I decided to go for VMware. Let me tell you simply the concept. Windows do not  reads the ext partitions but Linux can read NTFS partitions that Windows employs.  Linux installation comes with a varity of options. One of them is the installation in the unpartitioned space available in HDD. I will use Windows XP to demonstrate it.

Please do not think that I got a old rickety computer that has got only 20 gb Space. I use VMWare Box to do my expreiments on OS.

I will create a partition here 10 GB only. Hit C and you will be taken to

The place where you see the curosr, you are required to enter the size of the partition that you wnat to create. I want to create to  a partition of 10 Gb. So, I wrote 10240 MB=10 GB.  After You pressed Enter Key, You will see that you have created a partition of 10 Gb on Your HDD. In my case, it is Virtual HDD. 🙂

I want to install the Windows Xp, Fedora on the same HDD. I will leave this unpartitioned space untouched. Let the partitioned space highlighted and press Enter. I will go with NTFS partition and ofcourse a quick format.

After this, you will see that XP will format the HDD (the selected partition only). Then, XP set up will copy all the setup files to the HDD in order to install.

Then comes the time for the GUI setup.

After this, I assume the you finally installed XP on your computer, so I am providing a screenshot of Win XP that I installed to my VmWware machine.

Now, it is the time to go for Linux. :).

I will install Fedora 15. Not the complete version, the Live CD. The procedure would be same for Complete version too.

I hope that you have changed the boot order of you computer in order to allow the Linux Fedora Live Cd to boot before the Windows XP. You can do it while changing this option on your BIOS.

So, now you have put the Linux Live Cd on the Cd tray and After you power on your computer/laptop. You will see this a screen showing Automatic Boot in 10 seconds. After 10 seconds, you will see something like this.

Now, the default one in installing or rescuing a system. Go with this option. And then After some time, you will be on to Fedora Desktop.

Intermediate screenshots are not given. So, please wait until you see something like this.

Here is the place I got a problem. Linux Fedora uses newest Gnome 3.  I am using it on VMware. So, it did not get a proper Dispalay Hardware (all the hardware for the virtual machine are provided by the software, not by the host computer). So, it entered in the fallback mode. It means that Iwoun’t be able to show you the true Fedora Desktop. 😦

Anyway, I am here to show you how to install Linux Fedora on your Machine.

Click on the Applications on the top panel. In the drop down menu that appeared, go to System Tools, there you will see the option Install to HDD. Here is the screenshot.

If you are using a Laptop, please do have this in mind that tapping on the touch panel will not be regarded as a Click. You would have to press the button designed for clicking on your Laptop’s touch panel. It can be modified to take tapping as click but it is of no use here. So, lets proceed.

After you have selected the Install to Hard Drive, you will be asked to Select the Key Board System.

After key Board type, you are required to select the type of installation devices.

If you are trying to install the Fedora on your external Hard Drive rather than the one residing in your computer or your laptop, then you are required to go for Specialized Devices otherwise Basic Storage Devices is also fine.

After this you are required to give this computer a name.

Now, After giving it a name, you are required to enter the Time Zone. I am in Bharat (India), I will choose the Kolkata one, as in Screenshot.

After time zone, you are asked to enter the Root Password. Root is the supreme user in Linux. Keep this password simple. ( You can keep it anything you like, but please do not forget it otherwise, you will be in great trouble). You require root password to install packages in Linux.

After the root password, setup asks you where to install this Linux on your Hard DIsk Drive.

Look at the screen shot above. It provides you 5 options. 1st one for complete HDD, 2nd one for replacing already existing Linux OS, 3rd one for modifying the existing partition to set itself there, 4th one for using the FREE (unpartitioned) space and 5th custom Layout.

Use the 4th one as we have already left a unpartitioned space for this. Then, hit next.

After this, installation procedure would strat.

And after this, files would be copied to your HDD’s fre space.

Now, soon, you will be prompted that Fedora installation has been completed. Now, restart the computer and remove the Linux Live Cd from the Drive. And you will have this.

Now, since you have installed Fedora, it install Grub Loader. It is the first program that gets called when you power on your computer. It mentions the record of other available OS in your HDD. However, the default time for grub is 5 seconds. It could be increased, even decreased, the name of Fedora is something horrible here. It is actully the kernel version being shown here. This name could also be changed and the Default OS too. I will write about all mentioned things in the next aticle.

So, if you want to boot into Fedora, let it go on its own, But if you want to on XP or 7, be fast enough to press the button in 5 seconds or wait for me to write another post over it. 🙂

I suppose that you are fast enough that you pressed any button before the end of 5 seconds, then you will be taken to.

Look, we made it. You have the dual boot system here.  You can select the OS you want. In the next post, I will write about options that you see here. Other here points to Windows XP.

Dedicated to one who dared to ask me for help.

Good Luck.:)

Feel Free to Ping Me.

