After the death of my dearest Micromax Modem, I had to go out to buy another modem. I picked up Idea Net Setter E1732. Well, It wasn’t unlocked, I had to unlock it ( It took lot more courage than I had expected). After unlocking, I tried to install this software in the Red Hat. Normal procedure when one tries to connect to internet via a USB modem, is to let the modem manager identify your inserted CD Drive as an modem. But in my case, The modem was not being recognized as one. Even company had provided me the software that would run on a Linux System, Modem was not being recognized  I tried to do everything manually, and guess what.  I succeeded in installing it, and that’s why I am here to share the tale.

Obviously, the first step would to be plug your IDEA modem into USB port. Wait for sometime to let the computer recognize the modem as an CD Disc.

After it. Open Terminal.

Create a Directory in your home folder with the help of fallowing command.

mkdir /home/Your_User_Name/"Idea Net Setter"

Now, you have created a directory name “Idea Net Setter” in your home directory.

Now we need to traverse to the /media location of the filesystem to copy all the linux installation files to recently created folder.

cd /media
cd "Idea Net Setter"
ls -l
cp -vf Linux/* /home/Your_User_Name/"Idea Net Setter"/

This command will copy all the installation files to folder in home directory.

Screenshot1a

Now, we need to traverse to the Home Diector to change the permissions.

chmod 700 "Idea Net Setter"/*

Now, login into root and enter password

su

After login, simply

sh install

In the installation procedure, it would ask you to input the installtion directory, just hit Enter key for that. Installation would resume and would install the software if you have all the required files which you will have if you are operation 32 Bit RHCE.

After installtion, Idea Net Setter would start automatically.

In next post, I will tell you how to edit the connection settings of the Idea Net Setter. Editing Connection Profile can be alternative name to that.

Until then, take care.

